Office of the Provost (1980-)

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Office of the Provost (1980-)

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The office of Provost was established by President Acker and was first filled in 1980 by Owen Koeppe.

The provost and senior vice president is Kansas State University's Chief Academic Officer, whose most important duties are to oversee the academic affairs of the university and ensure its academic standards. In cooperation with the president, vice presidents, and the Deans Council, the provost provides leadership in the development, review, and implementation of policies and goals related to teaching and learning, research, and engagement.

The deans of the nine academic colleges, the libraries, Graduate School, and the Division of Continuing Education report to the provost. Other reporting units and programs include the Olathe Innovation Campus; the Centers for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning, Entrepreneurship, and Engagement and Community; and the School for Leadership Studies as well as Academic Personnel, Assessment, Diversity and Dual Career Development, Fort Leavenworth graduate degree programming, the Honors and Integrity System, Information Technology Services, International Programs, Planning and Analysis, Summer School, Sustainability, and the University Honors Program.

Recently the Provost has taken on the job of mediating for students. Complaints can be filed by students as to the performance of their professors and the Provost addresses any problems on a university wide scale.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Compiled By Sydney Lippman, June 2011, from information of the university website, internet sources, and archive resources.




Information from the university website, internet sources, and archive resources (Vertical Files).

Maintenance notes

Creator Source: Library of Congress Name Authority File
Biographical/Historical Note Author: Sydney Lippman

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places