Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Records

Identity elements

Reference code

Level of description



Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Records


  • 1910-2013 (Creation)


Name of creator

Administrative history

The beginning of Kansas State University’s College of Engineering dates to 1866 when a four-year course in Mechanic Arts was initiated, and by 1875 the Shop Building (now Seaton Court) was built to house the growing program. The Department of Mechanics and Engineering was organized in 1877 and the department stayed in that configuration until 1898 when it was separated into the Department of Electrical Engineering and the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

In 1909 the first wing of the Engineering Building (now Seaton Hall) was built to house the newly organized Division of Mechanic Arts. This division became the Division of Engineering in 1917 and in 1942 the division was transformed into the School of Engineering and Architecture. In 1963 K-State reorganized again, and the College of Engineering was formed with architecture in a separate college.

Currently the College of Engineering occupies the Durland-Rathbone-Fiedler Engineering Complex, having moved in 1976 when Phase 1 of Durland Hall was complete. In 2018, the College became the first named college at K-State, becoming the Carl R. Ice College of Engineering, in honor of Carl and Mary Ice.

Deans of the College –
1908 – 1913: E.B. McCormick, as Dean of Mechanic Arts
1913 – 1920: Andrey A. Porter, as Dean of Mechanic Arts then Engineering in 1917
1920 – 1949: Roy A. Seaton
1949 – 1961: Merrill A. Durland
1961 – 1963: John W. Shupe, as acting Dean
1963 – 1967: Paul E. Russell, first Dean of the College of Engineering
1967 – 1973: Ralph G. Nevins
1973 – 1997: Donald E. Rathbone
1997 – 2006: Terry S. King
2006 – 2007: Richard R. Gallagher, as interim Dean
2007 – 2013: John R. English
2013 – 2014: Gary Clark, as interim Dean
2014 – 2019: Darren Dawson
2019 – 2020: Gary Clark, as interim Dean
2020 – present: Matt O’Keefe

Content and structure elements

Scope and content

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering series contains three boxes consisting of material from the department. It includes faculty portraits, class profiles, Rathbone Hall construction photos, graduate and faculty meeting minutes, an Electrical Engineering Scrapbook, and various pictures and slides documenting different activities and student organizations including Engineering Open House and the Engineering Advisory Council.

System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use elements

Conditions governing access

Physical access

Technical access

Conditions governing reproduction

Languages of the material

Scripts of the material

Language and script notes

Finding aids

Acquisition and appraisal elements

Custodial history

Immediate source of acquisition

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information


Related materials elements

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related archival materials

Related descriptions

Specialized notes

Alternative identifier(s)

Description control element

Rules or conventions

Sources used

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places